Power plant additions and construction in British Columbia in 1964 are outlined at p. 655.

19.—Summary Statistics of the British Columbia Hydro and Power Authority, Year Ended Mar. 31, 1965

Item	Amount	Item		Amount
Generating capacity.   kw.	1,305,722 587,870 8,121,491	tial). Commercial, industrial, etc Pole Miles of Line— Transmission (high voltage) Distribution primaries	p.c. No. 8'000	2 67 3,983 11,808 101,021

Northwest Territories and Yukon Territory.—The Northern Canada Power Commission, formerly Northwest Territories Power Commission, was created by Act of Parliament in 1948 to supply electric power to points in the Northwest Territories where a need developed and where power could be provided on a self-sustaining basis. By legislation passed in 1950, the Act was extended to include Yukon Territory. The Commission has authority to construct and operate power plants as required in the Territories and, subject to approval of the Governor in Council, in any other parts of Canada.

The Commission has hydro-electric power developments on the Yukon River near Whitehorse, Y.T., the Mayo River near Mayo, Y.T., and the Snare River northwest of Yellowknife, N.W.T. Diesel-electric plants are operated at Fort Simpson, Fort Smith, Fort Resolution, Fort McPherson, Aklavik and Field, B.C., and utility plants comprising power, central heat and water and sewerage services at Inuvik and Frobisher Bay, N.W.T., and at Moose Factory, Ont.

The Whitehorse Rapids power development, in service since 1958, supplies the Department of National Defence at Whitehorse, most of the power for the city of Whitehorse, and three electric steam generators for heating the Department of National Health and Welfare hospital and two Department of Citizenship and Immigration hostels. The Snare River hydro developments supply power to the mines in the Yellowknife area and, in conjunction with the Bluefish hydro-electric plant of the Consolidated Mining and Smelting Company of Canada Limited, the town of Yellowknife. The original Snare Rapids plant has been in operation since September 1948 and the Snare Falls plant, situated on the same river about 10 miles downstream from the original plant, was placed in service in November 1960. Control of the Snare Rapids and Snare Falls plants was transferred to a remote control centre located in Yellowknife in the spring of 1965. The Mayo River plant has supplied power to mining properties in the Elsa and Keno areas and to the communities of Mayo and Keno City since 1952. A hydro-electric development under construction on the Taltson River, near Fort Smith, N.W.T. will, when completed in the fall of 1965, supply the lead-zinc mining operation being developed by Pine Point Mines Ltd. located at Pine Point, N.W.T., and replace the existing diesel power supply at Fort Smith, N.W.T. Details of construction in the Territories during 1964 are outlined at p. 655.